Ashe Activity Center

Ashe Activity Center

Ashe Activity Center is a state-of-the-art fitness center for use by athletes, students and the community alike. The $3 million, 40,000 square-foot center was completed in 2000 and houses a cardio-fitness room, three basketball courts, an indoor track, locker rooms, and a training room. As the vast majority of Covenant students participate in intramural sports, the courts in Ashe are used heavily for intramural competition.

The cardio-fitness room contains state-of-the-art equipment manufactured by Cybex© and Precor©, including treadmills, recumbent bicycles, vertical bicycles, stairsteppers, and individual machines for specialized muscle groups.

The center was dedicated on January 24, 2000.

If you have questions about gym hours, please contact John Hirte at or 706.419.1503.


Members of the Lookout Mountain community are welcome to use the indoor athletic facilities at Covenant College. All community users must sign up for a Community Access Card in order to use the gym. 


1. Membership is only for the current academic year, and the number of days remaining in the current academic year (not a full year)
2. Membership must be renewed online every academic year (July-June) through the registration form (see link below)
3. After the registration form has been completed, a membership ID and parking pass is only available on the following Monday and Tuesday afternoons. Same day registration and membership is not available.

The campus Safety and Security Office is only available for new gym ID's, Monday-Tuesday, 3 PM-4 PM.

During the academic year (August 15-May 15) the gym will be limited for use by ONLY Covenant College students, employees, and their families from 4 PM-7 PM.

Additionally, the athletic facilities are not available to be reserved for use by outside individuals or groups as we seek to prioritize access for our general student body and athletic teams.




Ashe Activity Center


In case of inclement weather, our outdoor athletic programs will be using the gym floors of Ashe Activity Center from 3 PM - 7 PM. Please plan your workout accordingly on days there is rain, snow, or fog in the forecast. Thank you for your understanding.

Monday - Friday
6 AM - 11:30 PM

8 AM - 10 PM



Spring Break (March 3-11):
Friday, March 3: 6 AM - 6 PM
Saturday, March 4-Sunday, March 5: CLOSED
Monday, March 5-Friday, March 9: 4 PM - 7 PM
Saturday, March 10-Sunday, March 11: CLOSED
Monday, March 12: Regular hours resume

Easter Break (March 29-April 2):
Thursday, March 29: 6 AM - 6 PM
Friday, March 30-Sunday, April 1: CLOSED
Monday, April 2: 8 AM - 11:30 PM

Finals Week (April 27-May 5):
Friday, April 27-Tuesday, May 1: Regular Academic Year Hours
Wednesday, May 2-Friday, May 4: 7 AM - 7 PM
Saturday, May 5: CLOSED